Home » Blog on the go! » Thoughts about gratitude.

Thoughts about gratitude.

Scarpine.jpg

Me and Maya! 

 

One of the things I hear more often lately and I come across on social media, is how important gratitude is. Even on health perspective, it seems that being grateful would make you feel physically better.

I have to admit, instead, that since the beginning of last year, I’ve become increasingly pessimist. I wasn’t like it when I was younger, but getting repeatedly hit by the reality and hate of surrounding people, left next to zero room for much more.

However,  in the past couple of months I also realized that being pessimist and keeping to regret everything and to moan and wine about what the hell have I done to deserve such a horrible future, put me in deeper and deeper crap!

Suddenly my brain underwent for an unexpected change in the way of thinking!

I don’t know exactly what made me change the way of seeing things or at least is pushing me in the right direction, but I can see this is the right way of doing it and hopefully managing it.

The truth is that our world is full of sadness and injustice. There are far too many violent people to my taste. Women are still treated like dirt in an unbelievable number of countries in this century.

Religion brainwash people and is excuse enough to kill, being violent, use strength when the basic commandment is to love each other. 

Greed has become the new god; people cheat, betray and kill for more money, more fame, for boredom. Are we seriously freaking kidding?

Where is the love, respect, trust, humanity? Are they still alive? It’s because of these thoughts and because of this disgust I feel that that I started to modify the way I’m thinking.

True, there are many people who have more, for whom things are easier. On the other hand, however, there are an infinity more sick, poor, in awful condition, victim of injustice or abuse. Who think to those?

My boiler is gone Ok, no drama, I have an emergency electric system. And luckily I have the money at least to afford heaters and the high bill that will follow.

We feel sick? It’s nothing, I always touch wood for the health but, as far as this time around was concerned I was lucky to afford the doctor and the medicines. 

And that’s it, that is how simple it becomes to concentrate on what you have and not what you’re missing compared to the others.

I’m so grateful I have a job, a roof on my head, a loving partner, a gorgeous daughter, a caring mum, a trustworthy brother, a sweet sister in law and a big dream.

I believe that until I’ll have the strength to dream everything will be sweeter and, to some extent, easier to face.

This is to begin with and, compared to several hundreds of people who struggle to find something to put on the table every day, this is more than enough.

I was given an advice: fill a jar with piece of paper, on each piece of paper write what made you happy that day or week or month. At the end of the year, I’m to open the jar and read what I’ve been happy for and this should change my point of view and perception on my life. It’s unbelievable the number of things we forgot we should be grateful for. I started my jar and I realized that even my attitude is different, because now not only I notice nice things happening to me, but I’ll try to see the nice perspective in order to fill the jar.

My advice is to try.

On some extent, it’s understandable being negative, it’s easier to complain about what we don’t have rather than analyze and be content with what we have already.

It’s not a nice way of behaving but it’s the common way of reacting. We’re used to have what we want and the most of the time we have it. Or at least a big chunk of population has.

We don’t realize that everything we have is a gift and it might be as just easy as losing everything suddenly and find ourselves in the street in a blink.

What do you think about it?

How do you stay positive?

Write to me in the comments below!

What do you think about that?

