Home » A to Z Challenge » J as Jotting down

J as Jotting down

20160412_130827

At the moment, one of my best friends is an orange notebook I bring almost everywhere with me! In there I’m jotting down all the information, ideas, notes about this WIP.

Actually I have a normal size folder at home too, but I needed something portable in order to brainstorm freely when I’m in a waiting room or on the train!

Even before writing on my orange notebook, I jotted down the first 10k words of the book, well what that hopefully will be the first book. But after the advice Oisín gave to me I decided that it was better a change of plan.

If at the beginning I was thinking to write scene by scene, swapping the POV, I understood that the better way of proceeding with this WIP was to write character by character’s story first and then try to create a final book, making a bit of jigsaw puzzle, placing here and there what I think better fits at a certain stage of the events.

As I was saying in my previous post, this WIP will take for ever even to see the first draft, but to be honest, I didn’t think about anything better.

It is weird, every single time I have to face a new book or a new story my way of working on it is quite different.

I have no clue whether this is due to experience or that the story being different brings me to different choices.

What is true this time as well as the others is that I jot down notes at all the times. But not only those specific to the book itself, but also to do’s lists or advices or quotes.

It seems that just scribbling something down makes myself more focused and calms what anxiety I might have.

You might say that now that the technology is so advanced, it might be better to use some apps or just a simple Word file.

Right you are! Problem is that I’ve tried once, or twice or even more. But I think that the main issue here is the fact that I’m one of the messier people alive.

As I lose the many notebooks I have, so I manage to lose files. I give them weird titles and I save them in different devices so sometimes is very difficult to get hold of them.

And as a matter of fact, I prefer paper.

My partner sometimes mocks me saying that I’m the most wanted person in Amazonia.

How about you? What do you prefer? File notes or jotting down and scribble on a piece of paper?

Let me know in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “J as Jotting down

What do you think about that?

