Home » A to Z Challenge » I as Italy and Ireland … again!

I as Italy and Ireland … again!

image

This is the view from the bridge I walk though on my way to work.

This is the first post that bears the same title of the one I’ve brought for the past A to Z challenges but the content will be different, or better a consequence, if you want.

As you might have got it by now, I prefer to write something I know or something I like and I’ve researched about.

As for the places and location, I prefer to write about places I’ve seen or I’ve been at least once. I guess it’s all connected to the notion given by some of the expert writers who suggest not to cheat on the readers or potential readers in order to keep their trust.

Actually while writing this book I’m keeping two lists: one of the places I’ve been to and I want to use; the other one of the places I’d love to use but I haven’t seen yet.

So far, as long as my plotting is concerned I’m going to set scenes in Howth, Dublin center, Dublin airport, Sligo, Cliffs of Moher and Doolin…maybe I’ll use one of the Aran Islands.

On the Italian side I’ll have Naples, Rome, Avellino and its surroundings and Volterra.

I realize only writing these posts and studying what I’ve written so far, that the majority of the elements I have collected are linked to Ireland. My goal is to reach a balance in between the both of them, regarding places and lore.

Actually, now that I think about that, I haven’t even started to look into some Italian folklore website. Shame on me!

Well, I knew it already, it will be a long walk!

How about you?

Do you write only about what you know or you try also some place where you haven’t been and use some tools in order to make them more real to the reader?

Advices?

Let me know in the comments below!

What do you think about that?

