Home » A to Z Challenge » S as Sonrisa

S as Sonrisa

This is the entrance of Sweet Moment. And it's the first adventure for Fran!

This is the entrance of Sweet Moment. And it’s the first adventure for Fran!

 

Sonrisa is the name of my fantasy world. It’s an archipelago and, if you know a bit of Spanish you can imagine the shape the islands assume when put on a map. It’s a big smile, or at least it used to be.

I’ve been working on Sonrisa for the past eight years now, but the idea was born in its core years before that. I think I was still in high school when I though about a story, that back then I wanted to turn into a comic, about three flowers and its inhabitants.

I realized that drawing wasn’t my thing. The result was that I put on a side the whole comic project and the story with it.

Despite that I kept thinking about my three flowers and the story behind them! I still have the drawings somewhere.

When I decided to turn seriously back to writing again, the core idea was still there but then new ideas joined the basic one and little by little the small garden size setting turned into a huge world. 

I kept feeding my ideas, working on details and races and every single detail you can think about. 

I have to be honest with you. Although I’ve been working on this world for so long I can’t write the word “end” yet. There are many details I have to adjust.

I know you might think that I could be one of those people never happy and you might be right. But still my main aim is to avoid lack of consistency and deus ex machina I really hate in books.

I hope sooner or later to be happy enough with it. 

For the moment, as I mentioned in my previous post, I’m letting travel my alter ego with the aim, among the others, of fixing the last details that need to be fixed. 

What do you think?

Do you think there is a limit in world building?

 

What do you think about that?

