Home » A to Z Challenge » K as Kelpie

K as Kelpie

Google search!

As by Wikipedia definition: “Kelpie, or water kelpie, is the Scots name given to a shape-shifting water spirit inhabiting the lochs and pools of Scotland. It has usually been described as appearing as a horse, but is able to adopt human form. […]”

I heard first about Kelpie when looking for Celtic creatures and looking for inspiration for my urban fantasy WIP.

Although being obsessed with vampires and lately also with werewolves, I love any kind of legend and supernatural kind of folk tale and urban lore.

I know the general rule says to write what you know and also to write the book you would like to read, and I usually do, but this time I wanted to make it differently. Since this particular WIP will be the one I’ll try to pitch an editor with, I had also to think to give my best shot. Thus, despite not being my priority when I write, I had to have a look at the market. As far as I could see lately there is an overflow of vampires, werewolves, angels and demons. I though that if I wanted a better shot I should concentrate on something different.

Although I’m a big fan of the “tell an old tale on a new way” rule, I looked around to find an inspiration.

Shape-shifters, doppelganger, this was my solution.

I’ve always been fascinated by the double in general. You might have noticed that my blog title is inspired to one of my favorite novels featuring the double as topic!

So I just thought that this theme plus the shape-shifting theme could be very interesting.

I’ll still have my vampires and my werewolves, I’d feel bad in leaving them aside, but they won’t be the only main characters.

So my hunters’ granddad is a Kelpie and I won’t say much more as I don’t want to spoil the surprise.

Despite being attracted by the folklore and lore in general I consider myself very ignorant, hence there will be a lot of research involved, but I love reading and learning new things so that doesn’t scare me. The amount of time I’ll need in order to do so…that is what’s worrying me!

What do you think?

Do you know many books about shape-shifters? I hope not otherwise I’ll have to think to something else and I quite like this idea!

Or do you think I shouldn’t care at all?

Advice will be appreciated!

 

4 thoughts on “K as Kelpie

  1. I have never heard of a Kelpie, but how interesting. I don’t read supernatural often, though I’ve read some lately. One of my friends writes about werewolves (shapeshifters). I tried my hand for a challenge on some shapeshifting, and it was well received by my audience! Exciting to try something new! Good for you.

What do you think about that?

