Home » A to Z Challenge » I as Ireland and Italy

I as Ireland and Italy

If  I'm going to open the doodle blog, I think this will be the title!

If I’m going to open the doodle blog, I think this will be the title!

I couldn’t make up my mind for this post so I’ll write about Italy and Ireland. The good thing is both these countries have the same initial and they count in my life.

Italy is my native country and I grew up there. I had my good experiences, although outnumbered by the negative ones. I have to tell the truth, when I moved to Ireland I was running away. The situation at home was terrible and my best friends were living in another city. I had to leave. I might give you more details in tomorrow’s post.

Of course I always do the comparison in between the two because, let’s face the truth, despite its downsides and disappointment Ireland gave me more and made me feel at home so far.

Being abroad, alone, with nobody you cannot rely upon isn’t easy. Sometimes, in between toddler and work and my will to have five minutes just for myself I feel so overwhelmed that I’d sit in a corner and cry my eyes out. I’m perfectly aware it’s not the right attitude but, let’s face the truth, grandparents would come in use whenever you need a break.

Then there is family. They’re all in Italy and for different reason I managed to visit only once a year for the past few years. I’d love to stay more with my mum, my brother and my sister in law. Of course if an emergency occurs (and you hope to avoid those situations), you’re stuck in another country. Like it happened when my dad passed away. Although I took the earliest flight I landed two hours too late to see him. It’s not fair and it’s hard, but what can I do?

My best friends are all in Italy as well. I talk to them daily, now the technology let you keep in touch with people better, still is difficult. Sometimes you just need a hug.

You understand that when people tell me “How could you live here? The weather is horrible!” I feel a bit annoyed because the weather is at the bottom of my priority list.

Here I have a job, I managed to buy a house and I can grow my daughter in a decent way, something that probable wouldn’t have been possible in Italy. Also Maya is growing bilingual, which is something I hope she’ll appreciate when she’ll be older. Along with the fact that she’ll probably be more open minded growing up with a mixture of backgrounds.

Over all, although there are a few not replaceable things from Italy, I’m happy to live here and I’ve planned to stay.

Unless of course I’ll become so famous that I’ll say goodbye to the normal world and I’ll go to live on a ship and travel around the world!

 

10 thoughts on “I as Ireland and Italy

  1. It’s hard when you have no help. My family lives 5 minutes away and can’t be bothered with my sons. They are both autistic and my youngest was difficult when he was younger. My mother, sister and nieces couldn’t be bothered to spend time with them. It would have been nice to have a break once in a while. I’m sure it’s much harder when you have a good family relationship and they are far away. It sounds as if you are making a wonderful life for your daughter. I’ve never been to Ireland but it looks beautiful in photos. I hope you get famous and get to travel around the world! That’s my dream too!

    • Thanks Judi. See? It’s when I hear stories like yours that I feel idiot. I’m probably complaining for silly things and maybe if I was put to test I wouldn’t do so great. I really have a great respect for strong women like you! I mean it!

      • Oh no, I didn’t want to you to feel that way at all! I am over them, they don’t want to be bothered. I think it’s worse for you being away from people who are part of your life! It’s easy to stay away from those that hurt you, but much harder to be away from people that you’d really like to see!

  2. We used to live far from my folks. I said I would never move back to Alabama, but I did and I love having their help. My sister tells me how lucky I am to have them (she lives in the Northeast where I used to live!). I think you’ve made the right decision for your family and that’s what counts the most! And maybe one day I’ll come visit you in Ireland. I could only wish! 🙂

  3. Hi Franny, I’ve always wanted to come to Ireland and to Italy. I have to admit to being curious about your reasons for “running away” and “my situation at home was terrible” . I have ancestors from both Ireland, and from Italy. I ran away , actually, I just left, my own home situation after Mom died, so we may well have some common family memories. I’ll look forward to your next post.

    • Hi Helen! You have your answer, or at least part of it, in today’s post! I’ve just published!
      It’s always sad when you have to leave someone you care about behind.

  4. I’m so sorry you had to leave your home country. I think that makes it so much harder to be happy where you are, if you are missing where you really want to be. I hope you will make new friends, and enjoy the life you have chosen, even if it means missing those places and people you left behind… Appreciate you sharing with us on the A to Z, Lisa, co-host AtoZ 2015, @ http://www.lisabuiecollard.com

    • I’m actually in a kind of limbo, as I’m happy where I am now, although I’m sad I’ve left behind people I love! I’m trying to get new friends but it seems harder than I thought. People nowadays seem just wanting acquaintances rather than friends!
      I love A to Z, but I’m struggling to keep the pace and visit the posts as well. I’ll try my best in the next few days!

What do you think about that?

