Home » Books » NaNoWriMo 2014

NaNoWriMo 2014

Dunno who did this, but it’s true!

I love NaNoWriMo but I have to admit I’m not going to make it this year.

Since I’ve decided already you may see no point in reading this post, but I had to write it, mostly to try to explain to myself why. The explanations I’m producing on daily basis became quite blurred under the weight of “I want to join this year too!!” yelled by the most stubborn part of my brain!

As the Romans used to say: verba volant, scripta manent, thus I’ll write this post.

A part from the huge amount of work and stress I’d add on the already heavy load on my shoulders and that I can’t afford at this very moment, I have another reason.

As I mentioned already I’m working on a very long project (and in the next post I promise I’m going to talk about it!!!) and I actually need loads of time to set the basic line for the story. To this, I might add loads of hours for the researches I need and loads of hours to the work needed for an acceptable first draft.

Although I really love NaNo and I’ll really suffer in not being able to participate to the stimulating and fun run, I have to surrender to the truth that I have no time and no energy to spare.

I have 4 days off and the only time I manage to give to myself is when Maya takes her afternoon nap. Two of these days are dedicated to my blog, so I have only 4-5 hours per week to commit to my project.

As I’m working very hard for this project I don’t want to rush over it in 30 days. Actually I wouldn’t finish even a minimum part of it I guess!

On the top of it I have to admit that, although I’ve always enjoyed NaNo for the fun of chatting with other writers and read about similar experiences, I’ve never finished the books I started during those sessions.

My fault of course, but this one is too important and I don’t want to spoil it! I know myself and although I don’t like this part of my character I can prevent problems!

I’ll try to follow the forum and the blogs anyway. I don’t want to miss the whole fun entirely!!!

How about you?

Ready to go?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014

  1. Funny… I did my first Nano in 2008 (and won!) and since then I’ve barely participated. I think I tried and gave up on two occasions within the first few days. Other years I just didn’t have the time.

    The times I attempted and gave up within a few days, those ideas were ones that I quickly realised weren’t to be rushed. They needed more time. More research. More development. More… anything, except for a rush.

    It’s a brave decision because once the Nano bug bites it’s hard to shake. Look at me: five years without a proper Nano and every November I still feel excited when November approaches and guilty as it passes by. But if it’s going to do more damage than good, definitely take a pass on it.

    And like you said, the forums are always there and it’s fun just to be active on them when possible, too!

    I’m doing Nano this year for the first time properly since 2008. I’m actually starting a week early and so I’m putting my own ‘end’ to it on November 25th. Can’t wait to have the forums to keep me motivated and confident, although to be honest I’ll be glued to the word document more than anything.

    Ultimately it’s about what works best for your project and that’s what matters, so you’re making the right call! And I’ll keep an eye out for you on the forums (I’m in the Dublin region one too, if you’re there.), my name on the site is Leeton. 🙂

    • It seems we agree on many things writing wise! I like it!
      Yes I judge this project too much important, so I don’t want to rush.
      As you said I have this tempting voice in the back of my head “Franny com’on, will be fun…please!” But I have to resist!
      Maybe another time!
      I’ll look for you, I’m Franny_Franny and my avatar is One Piece jolly roger…of course!!!

      • Added you as a buddy there. 🙂

        If you ever have a doubt for your decision just check out the various Nano forum threads in “Novel Draft Aftercare” and “Reaching 50k”, you’ll regularly find a large number of people in despair about their Nano novels and feeling like they’ll abandon it. Far more abandon them than continue them after Nano, and even fewer take them into finished, edited drafts.

        So if it’s a serious work you’re more than likely taking the right approach. 🙂

      • Thanks a lot!
        I’ll keep it in mind, but for the moment I’m still in the research and plotting stage!
        I’ll write my next post about it, I know you said to aim high, but still it looks like a huge task!
        I might still be writing it during next NaNo!!!!

      • As long as you have a goal and a plan to get there (and follow the plan!), you’re making significant progress. No task is too huge if you can have a manageable plan. 🙂

What do you think about that?

