Home » Blog on the go! » Blog on the go – I wish I could draw!

Blog on the go – I wish I could draw!

YaremeYou all have seen my doodles at this stage and I’m wondering what you think about that.

The reason I ask is that I don’t like my style at all. I’m going to upload them here again so you can have a look at them and decide!

First of all I cannot answer a question: why on earth I come out with an awful picture while in my head they’re so beautiful?

Actually it’s very frustrating!

As you might know I love manga and “Oriental style” of comics in general and that’s what I’m trying to achieve when I put pencil on paper. The problem is that the result is not even remotely close to what I’m thinking.

The even more frustrating part is that I have ideas, but not having skills, I can’t put them in practice.

When I was in high school I attended to a brief comic class. It was nice and I enjoyed a lot.

However, I was in my dark moment, so although I felt itching with creativity, I wasn’t allowed to spend too much time doing anything else but homework.

It was a pity, I know, but the idea I tried to put on picture during those days become the starting point of my fantasy world.

Not bad on this point of view, I know, but still I didn’t follow my creativity.

As I don’t have much time right now, then I cannot attend a class, so I’m looking for alternative way of learning, like YouTube videos or websites.

The sad truth might be that I’m not talented enough to draw comic or even sketches, like the little ninjas I was thinking about. I’ll show them to you sooner or later!

I know practice makes you perfect but still, I’d need time to practice and even then I don’t know if I could.

Drinking coffee and watching TV!

Drinking coffee and watching TV!

Now that I think about that, I believe this is valid for my writing as well….

Sometimes I got so stuck in this train of thoughts that I feel overwhelmed and anxious…

I love being creative anyway so I’m not going to stop in any case, but I’d love to know if I have talent, or potential!

Most of all I don’t understand why I cannot have any natural ability, why do I need to make an effort to achieve everything? Am I stupid?

What do you think?

Are my doodles a total disaster?

Are you struggling as well to achieve everything?

Is that normal?

Does the practice make you perfect or at least better?

Let me know in the comments!

 

A doodle I've done a few days ago.

A doodle I’ve done a few days ago.

 

3 thoughts on “Blog on the go – I wish I could draw!

  1. On a general note – it’s normal to struggle :).
    On the drawing note I can only share an advice I got from a graphic artist (his stuff is here http://sagacryptom.wordpress.com/inqs-portfolio/): no matter what style you want to be good in, you first need to master the basics which is the human anatomy. All the muscles, all the body proportions. Only when you have a thorough understanding of them and can draw them with ease, you will be able to “distort” or “simplify” them enough to make them your own style.
    I’m not great at drawing, but I have to say that his advice helped me a lot (even though my style is more fantasy-like, not close to real life). My drawings still lack in the fields I was always weak at, but my body proportions improved, my hands (that always been my pain) too.
    So, the bottom line is: get a good book on anatomy for artists and start practising :).

  2. It looks like you’re on your way. just keep at it.
    copy off whatever you like, find a middle ground that you like and adapt.
    yes, knowing a bit about anatomy helps, but again, adapt as needed to suit what you want to do. If you follow enough manga, you notice the varied body shapes that turn up in a story.

What do you think about that?

