Home » Franny » Potion and choices!

Potion and choices!

 Since I have problems with my computer –of course! Did you really think all the problems were gone with me feeling better? – And I don’t know how long it will last before it crashes; I decided to use a prompt.

I don’t remember where I found it, whether on Facebook or on WordPress, and usually I don’t really like them but there are just a few interesting and this is one of them.

You encounter a mysterious man offering you a magic potion that, once sipped, will make one of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch) super sharp — but dull the others. Will you sip it, and if so, what sense do you choose?

Maya chose the pic!

This is a nice and tricky question and it’s just the beginning of a chain of questions. What will be the gain for me? What if I don’t like it? How long will it last? Who’s this guy giving the potion to me? Why is he offering it to me? What is he gaining out of it?

I guess that if you modify one of these answers then the response is totally different! Or the other option is that I’m going into the depth of Orson Scott Card book and I’m totally fascinated from it.

But assuming that this guy is just a warlock who has to try on someone his potion because in training; and assuming he has just to prove to his master he can make it; and assuming that the effect of the potion will fade away soon, I suppose I can do a choice.

I’m curious enough to try it, of course, so I will do it almost for sure, but which sense should I choose?

Honestly I’ll have a problem to choose between sight and smell. I stopped smelling properly a few months ago and I have no clue why and I miss some of the gentlest smells.

But assuming that I should use the “super sense” to prove that the potion works I might chose sight as I wear glasses and it’s almost a daily super task to see properly. I cannot see 100% properly even with the glasses, just imagine what it means when I take them out.

I’d say sight then.

And then if you let me continue on this potion line, I’d ask the good warlock to give me another potion that can make me wake up on a pirate ship and I’d take in charge the crow’s nest and cry in sight of land.

Ok, you know me, I’m weird but this is the best answer I can offer this morning!

And what about you? Would you drink?

And which sense would you choose?

 

4 thoughts on “Potion and choices!

  1. No, I would not drink. I have trust issues for one. Who is this guy giving me a drink? I don’t know him. What’s in it for him? And why in the heck would I want any super sense? How long does it last? Side effects?

    Then there is the whole “dulls the other senses” part that I have issues with. I’m partial to my senses. All of them, just the way they are.

    Super senses can back fire too. You mention smells and good smells in general. Well, there are bad smells.

    No, thanks. I’ll pass, sit back and watch someone else find out just how this turns out.

What do you think about that?

