Home » NaNoWriMo » Pre-NaNoWriMo

Pre-NaNoWriMo

And we’re in that period of the year once again: October.

And, as I’ve been doing since 2010, every October I start to intensify my thoughts about the new event and the new story, because it’s almost time for NaNoWriMo!

So this post is about pre-NaNo, hence I’m going to tell you what I’m going to do or what I think I’m going to do, according to the present status of things!

For the moment I’m plotting and I’m world building and, to be honest with you, I cannot see the end of it.

So my ideal plan would be finishing putting together all the notes I have scattered all over and then once I’ve done, finishing reading Orson Scott Card’s book and rereading the whole lot adding details and so on.

At the same time, as I couldn’t do gigantic researches, I decided it was time to put on paper one story I created about three years ago.

The main characters will be Rainbow D. Fran, as I mentioned before, and her twin brother Dan. I have a great deal of characters to move, the majority of which are born taken inspiration from real people working with me; in fact, I have to admit that the majority of them asked to be put in there. I thought it was appropriate anyway, as I set my novel in a work place, so why not using them!

I’m happy I’ve waited to put the story on paper, simply because now that my world is more consistent, the story will be juicier anyway!

I’m thinking of creating a few posts dedicated to each one of the characters, in order to introduce them to my readers, as I’m going to post some excerpts and some quotes form the book during November, so you might feel less lost.

On the other hand it would help me with the preparation.

I’m seriously thinking about writing using the present tense and the first person narrator.

The story will be a journal and the first person it’s always the best solution in my opinion.

The present tense is something I thought I could try after I read, guess what, the Huger Games trilogy!

I know I’ve become obsessed with that, but I think that the choice of the present tense gave loads of points more to the action and suspense part of the story!

I guess that now you want to know what the story is about!

I’m not going to tell you right now, I shall leave you with some curiosity! Just for a few days, but I’m going to give you some hints and you can try to guess what it’s all about! Let’s play!

The working title is The Horror Heritage

The main characters are twins made of rainbow coloured liquorice.

The other characters are an invisible vampire, a cat-woman, two monkey-women, one poltergeist, three guardians of the plants and flowers, one sand-man, one rebel mermaid….and this is just the ones I thought of, but, as I told you already, you’re going to meet them one by one.

A doodle I've done a few days ago.

A doodle I’ve done a few days ago.

Chances are that you’re going to have some more.

Ah, and these are just the goodies!

So what do you think it will happen? 

What do you think about that?

