Home » Franny's news » Franny’s news #4

Franny’s news #4

 

Maya is now 21 months old and she’s more and more active as the days go by. Now she says a few words, for some reason the majority of them only in English. But at least she’s polite, she always says “Tattiu” when you give her something!

***

My partner and I felt sick lately. We got a nasty bug that put us on our knees together. It’s always annoying when you feel sick but when it happens at the same time and you don’t have any grandparent around to help it can be very tricky.

***

I’ve finished the seventh season of Supernatural. And I must say that at the very end it becomes interesting. I mean this one was the most boring and I’m sorry to say that as I love the show. Now  I have high hopes for the 8th. I know I’m a bit behind!

***

I loved so much The Hunger Games trilogy that I’m trying to do my best to avoid starting again from the first book. I must finish before the books I’m reading at present and then once I’ll manage to finish them I have to read something else! But you can be sure I’m going to read them again first thing next year.

***

I found out that reading before sleeping helps to relax and to wake up happier. Now it’s even easier than ever falling asleep considering that I resumed The Lord of the Rings – The two towers. I hope to finish it by the end of this year. It’s one if the books left from last year.

***

In work the flow of tourists is a tiny bit quieter and the nice calm and pleasant customers start to appear again. Why do you want to go on holiday and be stressed all the times?

***

My blog posts about my night out and dentist are almost done. I know that it doesn’t make much sense publish them now but still it took me time and effort to write them. What I mean is that it took me long to write them down because it is a nasty period and I want to publish them anyway.

***

I had a tour last week with a Japanese group and I felt very happy to be able to follow and to listen to the Irish guide speaking perfectly. On one hand I have to be happy because I followed the explanation fairly well but on the other hand I felt sad because I’m forgetting a lot of this lovely language. I felt a bit down knowing that I’ll never be able to reach such a standard.

***

The past few weeks have been a bit of roller coaster. Many downsides, more than I wished, to be honest. We felt sick, I forgot things I was supposed to do, and I messed up with work. And last but not least I feel very, very tired.

***

New update about my NaNo project: as I mentioned in the post before it will involve using my alter ago Rainbow D. Fran and I’ll set it in my fantasy world, Sonrisa. I hope to enjoy just the fun.

***

I found out some notes on writing by Neil Gaiman, while wasting my time on facebook. So here is the link for you. My favourite is: “Remember: when people tell you something’s wrong or doesn’t work for them, they are almost always right. When they tell you exactly what they think is wrong and how to fix it, they are almost always wrong.” Although number 8 is one of my secret wish.

***

As you might have noticed I didn’t put any picture in this news issue! The reason is that I want to attract your attention on this video. I cried the first time I watched it and the second and so on… Please, take the few minutes that it requires because it’s very nice.

I wish these small acts of kindness were more common in our present times. 

4 thoughts on “Franny’s news #4

  1. I hope you are feeling better ,Franny…I , too , have not seen Season 8 of Supernatural.My husband is very anxious to see what’s going on.
    My mother used to Speak Italian around us when she didn’t want us to understand, consequently, the naughtier the Italian film, the more I poke my husband in the ribs and tell him the subtitles are wrong!
    She also threw out a few phrases which I have no idea what they actually, literally mean, but I would just respond….like training a dog.

    • Yes, thanks we feel a bit better but tomorrow I have to go to work and although I don’t feel to, there is no other solution! I still feel weak and not 100% recovered but that’s that!
      I didn’t know your mum speak Italian!
      But what I want to know is, what do you think about the commercial?

  2. I heard that the commercial was based on a true story,Franny.It is very touching.

    My mother’s family was from Umbria; my grandfather claimed to be a Perugino, but I know my grandmother was from a village near Foligno,(which I heard was destroyed in the earthquake of 1976).. Although my mother and some of her siblings were born in America, they spoke Italian at home; it was her first language.
    Take care of yourself.

What do you think about that?

