Home » Kick My Butt Challenge » Kick My Butt Challenge – June 2013

Kick My Butt Challenge – June 2013

 

Hi everybody,

It’s the 1st of July and I have to summarize the last month in regards of my Kick My Butt Challenge.

So the last adjustment I did actually was doable, but I didn’t manage anyway.

Actually I’ve done almost everything but I’m not pleased with myself.

The good thing about this updates thought is that I’m going to let you know what I’m doing and what I’m reading during the month.

Anyway here is the score:

 

Blog posts: 20/20 Yay!

Grammar units: 15/20 D’oh!

Book read: 2/1 Mmmmh!

Current inbox mail: 88  Fine! (They went for a few hours over 100 for a couple of times, but I managed eventually)

 

I know that it seems I did a fair job, but let me explain.

When I set the aim to 20 posts and units I calculated the number of the days off from work per number of weeks.

4 * 5 = 20 (!!!)

I now math is an opinion to me but serves me right! A month, most of the time, has only 4 weeks, right? So the aim should be 16! But I said to me “it’s a challenge, so it would be a real challenge!”

Just saying….

As for the book, I read a very thin one “The magic finger” by Roald Dahl just to reach the number and then the second is a manuscript by a friend of mine. But for that my lips are sealed as it is work in progress.

All of this was due to my attempt in reading the first volume of Game of Thrones. I love it but I’ve read only 202 pages of that one! I know that it’s an adult fantasy so it’s a bit more complicated for me, but still I’m disappointed.

So as I’ll keep reading GOT, but even if I finish it won’t be considered a whole book for the month of July, I started this morning another one: The Alchemyst by Michael Scott. Once again I read fantasy for teens and I love it already. The first 12 pages are so packed with action that I cannot imagine what would happen next.

Maybe I’m so slow in reading GOT because I’m used to the YA reading, who knows, but I’ll stick to it until the end because Martin is genius!

And last but not least, I’m still trying to get information out of “The life of Pagan Celts” I’ll use for my NaNo 2013. The only bad side of it is I have to go to the library once again and extend the return date.

I’m not a big fan of non-fiction but I need it in order to achieve what I want.

I’m just wondering what I could put on my mobile, as I realized that I managed to read the manuscript properly. The only issue would be take notes out of it!

Let’s see what I can do. I’ll keep you posted.

 

 

What do you think about that?

