Home » Competition » Let’s try to get positive!

Let’s try to get positive!

The bad news is that I haven’t slept almost at all last night too.

The good news is that at least is a sunny day so I could go shopping for my trip to Listowel.

The bad news is that I won’t be physically and mentally able to sort my email out nor to write a brand new post.

The good news is that they replied from the organization of that competition I entered a few days ago and I was told I can publish my entry on my blog.

The following one is my entry about Vellekoop VanZanten, the king of Black Dragon Kingdom, the evil country of Sonrisa.

I formed his name lending two surnames from two Dutch customers. In my head Dutch names and surnames, in particular, sound villain! Don’t ask me why, that’s just how my poor brain works!

I had to stay within 500 words and I decided to take the first lines of the three drafts I have in my computers about my Vision Project.

I discovered that I love starting my books with villains; I love to show the readers what they’re up to!

Cutting a bit the longest parts and linking them with a kind of graphic presentation that will be lost in the blog post (I’ll try to do my best), here he is ladies and gentlemen, Vellekoop VanZanten :

 

 

Vellekoop VanZanten doesn’t accept defeat.   

“Your majesty” a voice said.

An object was thrown from the dais and smashed on the wall at the opposite side of the room. Immediately after, in the centre a few drops of blood fell from nowhere on the floor.

“I thought I’ve been clear enough. Show yourself to me, you stupid individual” a voice from the dark dais hissed.

“I’m sorry, your majesty” the voice said and from the voice took form a mouth and then a face until a man appeared kneeling in front of the dais, his cheek bleeding.

“How many of yours are left?”

“Enough to follow your orders, your majesty”

“Very well. I’m not pleased at all with the result of the war, as you can imagine. I blame you and all the stupid soldiers I had under your command. You’re weak, and you’re stupid”

“Yes, your majesty”

“You’re going to do exactly what I’m ordering this time, otherwise I’ll kill you all with my hands. Understood?”

            “Yes, your majesty” the man said. Then little by little he started to vanish again while retreating from the room.

When the door was closed the king spoke again. “Kai” he called and a figure emerged from the dark on his right “If they complain you kill them. If they suggest something you kill them, and then consider the option itself. If they don’t observe the orders in detail you kill them”

          “Yes, your majesty” Kai said bowing.

  

Vellekoop VanZanten finds always another way.

“Your majesty.” The servant knelt on the floor.

“Did you find her?” the King asked without even turning. He was sipping something from a dragon-shaped goblet.

“Yes, your majesty.”

“Is she beautiful, like the rumours say?” he asked, swirling the liquid around.

“Yes, your majesty.”

“And is she in her marriageable age?”

“Yes, your majesty”

“Very good” said the king, turning for the first time. An evil light went through his eyes. “Kill her!”

 

Vellekoop VanZanten doesn’t stand who fail even if it’s his family or the best servant he’s ever had.

“You failed again, son”

“I know, your majesty” Julius said.

“I’ve already given a second chance to you but apparently you’re too stupid to succeed!”

He stood up and climbed down the three steps of the dais and then went towards the group in the middle of the room.

After a while he was behind them. He knew he was the only one able to see in the complete darkness.

A metal noise broke the silence echoing in the empty dark room.

Without saying anything, he stabbed his sword in the back of the man kneeling immediately behind Julius.

A cry of pain echoed in the darkness.

“For you service, Kai, you deserve death” he said.

After that a sound of broken bones. The king twisted his sword in Kai’s back and pushed him dead on the ground.

 

Vellekoop VanZanten 345th King of Black Dragon. Half vampire and very proud of it.

14 thoughts on “Let’s try to get positive!

What do you think about that?

