Home » Books » Reading and thinking

Reading and thinking

I’ve spent yesterday afternoon and today trying to recover a little bit, because apparently I’m one of the lucky few who get an awful cold in July!
Today I’ve read the whole “Boy” by Roald Dhal.
And it is amazing.
I love reading and get information about writers or great and interesting people’s life, firstly because I’m curious and secondly because I’d like to get some inspiration!
I didn’t know Roald Dahl before coming here in Ireland and now I’ve almost read all his books, even if there are a few I haven’t found yet.
When I was in Listowel I found this volume “Boy and Going solo” and I got it immediately. He’s a genius so I wanted to know everything about his life.
And it was normal and predictable too that his biography wasn’t the usual boring one. It is full of sketches and anecdotes so well written and full of his particular humor that it’s impossible to put down the book!
He describes some stuff happened when he was child and the majority of it was a bunch of unfair things. Despite the anger you feel, you see a hope anyway, and you start to think that maybe you should see the unfair things that happen to you like some life experiences that, if you’re  skilled enough to become such an author, you’ll tell to your reader to share the hope with them too!
I’m charmed by the past in general so it was clear that I would find interest in this book anyway, as you can find all the information about school, life, work and holiday when a lot of comforts we have now weren’t invented yet! Amazing!
But I want to copy here few lines from this book that really gave me hope about my writing efforts!

“The life of a writer is absolute hell compared with life of a businessman. The writer has to force himself to work. He has to make his own hours and if he doesn’t go to his at all there is nobody to scold him. If he is a writer of fiction he lives in a world of fear. Each new day demands new ideas and he can never be sure whether he is going to come up with them or not. Two hours of writing fiction leaves this particular writer absolutely drained. For those two hours he has been miles away, he has been somewhere else, in a different place with totally different people, and the effort of swimming back into normal surroundings is very great. It is almost a shock. The writer walks out of his workroom in a daze. (…) A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I’m sure, is why he does it.”

I know that is seems saying “Do whatever you want but don’t become a writer!”, but you see, the message I received was exactly the opposite. So I want to write even more! And I’m sure that who knows me better, understands this completely!

What do you think about that?

